mdm - Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung

About MDM

Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung GmbH (MDM) awards funding to promising film and media projects realised in Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia. Funding schemes are available for all phases, starting from idea development through to production and distribution.
To be eligible, production companies must spend at least the awarded funds in the region of Mitteldeutschland. In general, the funds must be paid back unless the projects's revenues fall short of a certain minimum.



photographs: Uwe Frauendorf, Rudolf K. Wernicke et al.


Shareholders of Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung GmbH (MDM):

the state of Saxony, the state of Saxony-Anhalt, the state of Thuringia, the Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk (public broadcasting association of the three above states) and the Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (national public television channel)

  • members of the MDM board of directors


    President: Malte Krückels

    State Secretary, Thuringian State Chancellery

    Vice President: Dr. Katja Böhler

    State Secretary, Thuringian Ministry for Economic Affairs, Science and Digital Society

    Oliver Schenk

    State Minister, Head of the Saxonian State Chancellery

    Sebastian Hecht

    Head of the Department of Culture and Tourism in the Saxon State Ministry of Science, Culture and Tourism

    Rainer Robra

    State Minister, Head of the State Chancellery and Ministry of Culture of Saxony-Anhalt State

    Rüdiger Malter

    State Secretary, Ministry of Finance of Saxony-Anhalt State

    Grit Wißkirchen

    Mitteldeutscher Film- und Fernsehproduzentenverband (association of film and TV producers)

    Jana Brandt

    Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk
    (public broadcasting association of the three states)

    Klaus Brinkbäumer

    Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk

    Peter Weber

    Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (national public television)

  • members of the fund allocation committee of MDM

    Chairwoman: Dr. Henrike Franz

    State Chancellery of Saxony-Anhalt State

    Dr. Thomas Hertel

    art scholar

    Dr. Matthias Heinze

    State Chancellery of Saxony State

    Cosima Stracke-Nawka

    film and theatre scholar

    Christoph Schweitzer

    State Chancellery of Thuringia

    Petra Beltz

    Kinoklub am Hirschlachufer Erfurt

    Annegret Richter
    AG Animationsfilm

    André Naumann

    Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk

    Susanne Sturm

    Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk

    Dagmar Ungureit

    Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen

    Inga von Staden